Meet Dr. Barlow

Meet Your Abbotsford Family Dentist - Dr. Barlow

Dr. Chris Barlow

I was born and raised in Vancouver and completed a Bachelor of Physical Education degree (B.P.E. - Kinesiology) before continuing on to receive my dental degree (D.M.D.) from the University of British Columbia in 1989.  I began practicing in Vancouver and then moved to the Fraser Valley to take over this practice in 1990.

I enjoy the both the artistic and scientific components that dentistry offers and love the personal interaction with my patients.  Meeting so many great people over the years has enriched my love of dentistry.

Outside of the office I enjoy:

Continuing Education
Since I began practicing I have been committed to continuing my dental education and staying up-to-date on the most current techniques and procedures.  I have been a member in a variety of study clubs and courses in Canada and around the world, focusing on everything from oral implant surgery and endodontics, to occlusion and restorative techniques.
Giving back to my profession
Over the years I have been an active member within the dental community, serving as President of the Fraser Valley Dental Society from 1998 – 2000 after eight years on their board of directors.  Since then I have served on the board of the BC Dental Association and been involved in some of their committees (Communications Committee, and more recently the Audit and MLA Government Liaison Committee’s)

Giving back to my community
One of the most rewarding aspects of my career is having the opportunity to give back to my community.  In 2008 I became a founding member and volunteer dentist for the Abbotsford Food Bank Free Dental Clinic.  I volunteer a day a month to provide free essential dental care to those in need. 

Outside of dentistry my family is most important.  My wife, Kathy, has been incredibly supportive, which has allowed me to explore my potential.  We have three wonderful daughters, whom I am very proud of.  The older two are both registered nurses, while my youngest is studying to be a Psychologist.  As my home and work life has been heavily ‘female influenced’ (our dog and cat are also female), I enjoy time at our lake place doing ‘guy things’ such as ATVing, snowmobiling, and fishing.  I also love running, cycling, hiking, golf, racquet sports, travel, and life in general!